News

All latest news headlines from Blatchington Mill School. Parents and carers are sent a
monthly email summary of what's been happening.

Embracing Foreign Languages at Blatch

Friday, 05 April 2019

Here at Blatch we are delighted to be developing a new multilingual library as well as introducing foreign language reading groups and an Arabic club! Read More

Author Candy Gourlay Visits Blatch

Tuesday, 12 March 2019

As part of our World Book Day celebrations, popular teen fiction writer, Candy Gourlay, visited Blatchington Mill on Friday 1st March. Read More

Former Student Grace Carter Returns to School

Tuesday, 05 March 2019

Pop singer and former pupil Grace Carter returned to Blatch last week to give a talk to pupils. Read More

Blatch Awarded Rainbow Flag Award

Friday, 01 March 2019

Blatchington Mill is delighted to announce that we have been awarded the Rainbow Flag Award! Read More

Peter Kyle Climate Q&A

Friday, 15 February 2019

We were delighted to welcome Peter Kyle MP into Blatchington Mill today to talk about climate change and take questions from our students. Read More

Brighton Science Festival at Blatch

Thursday, 07 February 2019

We were delighted to welcome BBC Science’s Jonathan Hare and Brighton Science Festival’s Richard Robinson into Blatch last week! Read More

A Taste of Game - Year 10 Cook with Pheasant

Wednesday, 06 February 2019

On Tuesday the 29th January our GCSE Food students learnt how to work with pheasant. Read More

Spanish Theatre Trip

Tuesday, 05 February 2019

20 students from Years 9 and 10 recently travelled to the Cervantes Theatre in London for a Spanish Theatre Experience! Read More

Charity Events at Blatch

Tuesday, 15 January 2019

In the lead up to the festive period at Blatchington Mill we held a number of charity events that enabled us to give something back to our local community. Read More

Blatchington Mill Open 14/01/19

Sunday, 13 January 2019

School is open as usual from Monday 14th January, following the fire in the canteen on Friday 11th January. Read More

Blatch at the Bilingual Primary School

Thursday, 13 December 2018

On Thursday 6th December, four of our year 10 Spanish students had the opportunity to visit the Bilingual Primary School. Read More

Year 11 GCSE Food Students Work with Waitrose Fishmonger

Wednesday, 28 November 2018

On Wednesday 21st year 11 students benefitted from a visit from Paul the Fishmonger. Read More

Galactic Challenge at Blatch

Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Here at Blatch, we recently held our very own Galactic Challenge, welcoming in a number of budding scientists from local primary schools including Brunswick, Goldstone, Aldrington and Hove Juniors, Read More

Bike Donation for Blatch’s New Cycling Group

Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Blatchington Mill would like to extend a huge thank you to Peter Lindsay, founder and manager of O3e, who generously donated 10 brand new bikes Read More

Blatch Students Write for Safety Rocks Newsletter

Thursday, 08 November 2018

We’re really proud to share that three of our Blatch students have been featured in the Safety Rocks newsletter. Read More

Blatch Student Wins Harlequins Jersey for Kindness

Thursday, 11 October 2018

Our year 8 rugby team were recently lucky enough to take part in a Harlequin’s Schools training day. Read More

Former Student Ted Featured on Guardian's Premier League Talent List

Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Blatchington Mill is delighted to see that Ted Jenks, one of our former students, has been featured on the Guardian’s list of the 20 Best Talents at Premier League Clubs! Read More

Zanzibar 2018

Thursday, 20 September 2018

Over the summer holidays 31 of our year 10 and 11 students travelled to Zanzibar to carry out a volunteering project with African Adventures, a travel organisation that matches volunteers in the UK Read More

Peter Kyle MP and Amanda Spielman, Her Majesty's Chief Inspector for Ofsted Visit Blatchington Mill

Friday, 14 September 2018

Last term we were delighted to welcome Peter Kyle, MP for Hove, and Amanda Spielman, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector for Ofsted, to Blatchington Mill. Read More

Open Evening and Mornings 2018

Tuesday, 04 September 2018

We are really looking forward to meeting prospective parents, carers and students at our open evening on Thursday 4th October. Read More