Meeting Minutes

Minutes of the meetings of the Governing Body can be found here:


Governors' Membership

The Governing Body consists of:

  • 1 Governor appointed by the Local Authority;
  • 2 Parent Governors elected by parents and carers;
  • 2 Staff governors (one being the Headteacher ex officio, the other elected by staff);
  • 10 Governors co-opted by the other governors in post, to fill skills gaps

All governors serve four years in office (except the Headteacher who holds post by virtue of office).

There are also three Student Associates, one from each Key Stage, who contribute to Governing Body meetings.

Peter Sowrey

Appointed by Local Education Authority 5 July 2016; Chair of Governors.

Addy Balogun

Co-opted Governor appointed 9 November 2013.

John Barker

Co-opted Governor appointed 9 November 2013.

Fiona Bauermeister

Co-opted Governor appointed 9 November 2013.

Dr Gareth Chan

Co-opted Governor appointed 25 November 2014.

Ashley Harrold

Staff Governor (Head Teacher) appointed 1st September 2015 (ex officio).

Peter Gerry

Co-opted Governor appointed 9 November 2013; Vice-Chair of Governors.

Richard Goodsell

Co-opted Governor appointed 24 November 2014.

Sally Hunt

Co-opted Governor appointed 24 April 2014.

Kevin Fry

Staff Governor appointed 1st September 2015 (4 year term).

Andrew Wallace

Parent Governor appointed 23 January 2015.


Current Declarations of Interest

A list of Governors with a declaration of interest is given below:


Clerk to the Governors

David Harvey

Please send all correspondence to:

Mr David Harvey,
Clerk to the Governors,
Blatchington Mill School,
Nevill Avenue,
Hove BN3 7NB.


Last updated by D.Harvey July 2017